The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

October 19, 2006

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Thursday, October 19, 2006, at 3:25 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board room.

Members present were: Mr. Arthur S. Bahnmuller; Mr. William L. Bethea, Jr.; Mr. John W. Fields; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. M. Wayne Staton; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Herbert C. Adams, Board Chairman; and Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Vice Chairman. Dr. C. Edward Floyd was absent. Other Trustees present were: Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Samuel R. Foster, II; Mr. Michael J. Mungo; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr.

Others present were: President Andrew A. Sorensen; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Research and Health Sciences Harris Pastides; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; Vice President for Advancement Brad Choate; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice Provost and Executive Dean of for Regional Campuses and Continuing Education Chris P. Plyler; Dean of USC Lancaster John Catalano; Dean of USC Union James W. Edwards; Director of the Department of Internal Audit Alton McCoy; Public Information Officer, Office of Media Relations, Karen Petit; Director of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Russ McKinney, Jr.; and Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, Karen Tweedy.

It was noted that no members of the media were in attendance. Senior member Arthur Bahnmuller called the meeting to order and invited the Secretary to read aloud the membership of the Committee as constituted by the Executive Committee earlier today. Mr. Bahnmuller stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated to the full Board of Trustees; and a quorum of the Committee was present to conduct business.

- I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>: Mr. Bahnmuller opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Adams nominated Mr. Lister and moved that the nominations be closed and that Mr. Lister be re-elected Chairman by acclamation. Mr. Staton seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.
- II. <u>Adjournment</u>: There were no other matters to come before the Committee, and Mr. Bahmuller declared the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary