The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

December 15, 2008

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Monday, December 15, 2008, at 8:30 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Herbert C. Adams; Mr. James Bradley; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Miles Loadholt, Board Chairman; and Mr. Samuel R. Foster II, Board Vice Chairman. Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Othniel H. Wienges, Jr. and were absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; and Ms. Amy E. Stone.

The faculty representative, Dr. Robert G. Best; and the student representative, Mr. Andrew T. Gaeckle, were present. The following Faculty Liaison Committee representatives were absent: Dr. Charley Adams, Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee; Dr. Mathieu Deflem, Chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee; Dr. Carl Eby, USC Beaufort, Senior Campuses Representative; and Dr. Danny Faulkner, USC Lancaster.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Thomas L. Stepp; Vice President for Strategic Planning William T. Moore; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Mark P. Becker; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Richard W. Kelly; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Jane M. Jameson; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Interim Vice President for Advancement Michelle D. Dodenhoff; Interim Vice President for Research Rose Booze; Vice Provost and Executive Dean for System Affairs and Extended University Chris P. Plyler; Chancellor of USC Beaufort Jane T. Upshaw; Dean of USC Lancaster John Catalano; Dean of USC Union Hugh C. Rowland; University Treasurer Susan D. Hanna; Vice Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of Undergraduate Studies Helen I. Doerpinghaus; Assistant Provost for Academic Programs Kristia H. Finnigan; USC Campus Dean of the South Carolina College of Pharmacy Randall C. Rowen; Director of Athletics Eric C. Hyman; Assistant Vice Provost for Extended University Sally Boyd; Associate Director of Governmental Affairs and Legislative Liaison Casey Martin; Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance, USC Aiken, Ginger S. Hudock; Vice

II-17

Chancellor for Advancement, USC Beaufort, Lynn McGee; Interim Director of University Communications, Division of University Advancement, Margaret Lamb; Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone, and Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and invited those Board members present to introduce themselves. Ms. Lamb indicated that no members of the press were in attendance.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that there were personnel matters dealing with recommendations for honorary faculty titles and tenure and promotion recommendations which were appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Jones called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Adams so moved and Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stepp, Dr. Moore, Dr. Becker, Mr. Kelly, Dr. Pruitt, Mrs. Jameson, Dr. Hogue, Dr. Plyler, Ms. Dodenhoff, Mr. Parham, Dr. Booze, Mr. Gregory, Ms. Mills, Mrs. Martin, Ms. Lamb, Mrs. Saxon, Ms. Stone, and Ms. Tweedy.

Open Session

I. <u>Program Proposal</u>:

_

Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Leadership, Regional Campuses:

Chairman Jones called on Dr. Plyler, who explained that this was the second degree program to fall under Palmetto Programs within the Division of System Affairs and Extended University, the first of which was approved by the Board two years ago. This degree program would combine web-based instruction and interactive video, utilizing faculty already in place at the regional campuses. The costs were minimal, and the demand for such programs was considerable among students at the regional campuses and students at other two-year institutions who might wish to transfer to USC.

Mr. Adams moved to approve the program proposal as presented in the materials distributed for the meeting. Mr. von Lehe seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>:

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 8:45 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas L. Stepp Secretary