The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

September 21, 2012

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, September 21, 2012, at 2:00 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Vice Chairman; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert E. Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, III; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Also present were the faculty representative Dr. Sandra J. Kelly and the student representative Kenny Tracy.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice Chancellor for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, USC Aiken, Ernest Pringle; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Michelle Dodenhoff; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Chief Financial Officer, Department of Athletics, Jeff Tallant; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance Leslie Brunelli; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Chancellor of USC Upstate Tom Moore; Director of the Department of Internal Audit Phil Iapalucci; Associate Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Assistant Director, Office of Institutional Assessment and Compliance Nancy Floyd; Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies Helen Doerpinghaus; Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies Lacy Ford; Executive Assistant to the President for Equal Opportunity Programs Bobby Gist; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Dean of the School of Music Tayloe Harding; Dean of the College of Hospitality, Retail, and Sport Management Brian Mihalik; Dean of the College of Mass Communications and Information Studies Charles Bierbauer; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeff Perkins; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley Mills; Executive Dean of the

South Carolina College of Pharmacy Joseph T. DiPiro; Chair of the Athletics Advisory Committee Charles F. Adams; Professor of Management and Senior Associate Dean for Research and Academics, Darla Moore School of Business, Brian Klaas; Deputy Athletics Director Charles Waddell; Associate Athletics Director for Academics and Life Skills Raymond Harrison; Associate Athletics Director and Senior Women's Administrator Judy Van Horn; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing Charlie Fitzsimons; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager, Justin Johnson; Board staff members Debra Allen, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media who included Andy Shain of The State and Thad Moore of The Daily Gamecock.

Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there were contractual matters appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Westbrook moved to enter Executive Session. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Dr. Amiridis, Dr. Pruitt, Dr. Curtis, Dr. Ford, Dr. Howell, Dr. Floyd, Coach Tanner, Ms. Van Horn, Mr. O'Connell, Mr. Waddell, Mr. Tallant, Mr. Walton, Ms. Brunelli, Mr. Walker and Ms. Mills, Chancellor Moore, Mr. Pringle, Mr. Adams and Mr. Heath.

Return to Open Session

There being no other matters to come before the Board of Trustees, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary