The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Executive Committee

May 3, 2012

The Executive Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Thursday, May 3, 2012, in Osborne Building Room 206B at 1:30 p.m.

Members present were: Mr. Miles Loadholt, Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr. and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr. Mr. Herbert Adams was absent. Other Board members present were: Mr. W. Lee Bussell Sr.; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Communications

Luanne Lawrence; and Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.

Chairman Loadholt called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation. Ms. Lawrence introduced a member of the press who was in attendance.

Chairman Loadholt stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Loadholt stated that there was a personnel matter which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Loadholt called for a motion to enter Executive Session for a personnel matter. Mr. Lister so moved and Dr. Floyd seconded the motion. Secretary Stone called the roll and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Byrd, and Mr. Parham.

Return to Open Session

I. Personnel Matter – Appointment of Dr. Sandra J. Jordan, Chancellor of USC Aiken:

Chairman Loadholt called for a motion to approve the appointment of Dr. Sandra J. Jordan Chancellor of USC Aiken, effective July 1, 2012, at an annual base salary of \$165,000 and a Foundation Supplement of \$40,000 for a total annual compensation of \$205,000. Mr. von Lehe so moved and Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Loadholt advised that Dr. Sandra J. Jordan's appointment as a tenured faculty member at USC Aiken would be presented for consideration at the June Board meetings.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Loadholt declared the meeting adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary