The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

November 9, 2012

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, November 9, 2012, at 10:15 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Dr. C. Edward Floyd, Presiding; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Charles H. Williams; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman, participated by telephone. Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. was absent.

Other Trustees attending were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Assistant Chancellor for Facilities, USC Aiken, Michael F. Jara; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard Hoppmann; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Assistant Director of Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Chairman of the Department of Neuropsychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, School of Medicine, Meera Narasimhan; Senior Associate Athletics Director Judy Van Horn; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Chair of the Faculty Senate Sandra J. Kelly; Dr. Richard Dean, President-Emeritus, Wake Forest University Health Services; Vice Chancellor for Student Development, USC Beaufort, Doug Oblander; Assistant Vice Chancellor for Student and Diversity Affairs, USC Upstate, Laura D. Puckett-Boler; Director of News and Internal Communications, Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Terri Saxon, Vera Stone and Karen Tweedy.

HAC_110912 Page 1 of 3

Dr. Floyd, as Presiding Chair, called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. He asked Secretary Stone to identify those individuals who had joined the meeting by telephone. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media who were in attendance: Mr. Andy Shain of *The State* Newspaper; Mr. Colin Campbell and Ms. Amanda Coyne of *The Daily Gamecock*.

Dr. Floyd stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the Committee members; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Dr. Floyd stated that there was a possible contractual matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Fennell moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Walton, Mr. Parham, Mr. Byrd, Dr. Curtis, Mr. Heath, Mr. Perkins, Dr. Dean, Dean Hoppmann, Dr. Narasimhan and Mr. Hickman.

HAC_110912 Page 2 of 3

Return to Open Session

I. Other Matters

Presiding Chair Floyd called on Provost Amiridis who advised that Secretary Stone and Mr. Mobley had contacted Bo Faulkner, Secretary to the Medical University of South Carolina Board of Trustees to establish a date for a meeting of the Joint Oversight Board as constituted by the affiliation agreement signed by both institutions. That board consisted of two members from the Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina and two members from the Board of Trustees of the Medical University of South Carolina and the two provosts. In addition, Executive Dean DiPiro would like to invite the two presidents to attend this meeting as well. Dr. Smith, Chair of the Health Affairs Committee, and Mr. Mobley were the appointees from the USC Board of Trustees. The goal was to schedule this meeting early in 2013.

Provost Amiridis indicated that he had met with Executive Dean DiPiro earlier today who assured him that a full review of the school both academically and financially will be conducted during the meeting.

Secretary Stone announced that the Student-Trustee Liaison Committee will meet in the Board Dining Room following adjournment of the Health Affairs Committee.

II. Adjournment

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Dr. Floyd declared the meeting adjourned at 11:20 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone

Secretary

HAC_110912 Page 3 of 3