The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Intercollegiate Athletics Committee

September 21, 2012

The Intercollegiate Athletics Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, September 21, 2012, at 10:00 a.m.., in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Robert E. Brown, Sr.; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Research Prakash Nagarkatti; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Michelle Dodenhoff; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance Leslie Brunelli; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice Chancellor for Information Services and Chief Information Officer, USC Aiken, Ernest Pringle; Chancellor of USC Upstate Thomas Moore; Dean of the College of Journalism and Mass Communications Charles Bierbauer; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Chief Financial Officer, Department of Athletics, Jeff Tallant; Director of the Department of Internal Audit Phil Iapalucci; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming Derek S. Gruner; Executive Associate Athletics Director Kevin O'Connell; Deputy Athletics Director Charles Waddell; Associate Athletics Director for Academics and Life Skills Raymond Harrison; Associate Athletics Director and Senior Women's Administrator Judy Van Horn; Director of Ticket Operations, Athletics Department, Lance Grantham; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Division of Business and Finance, Helen T. Zeigler; Associate Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron

IAC_092112 Page 1 of 3

Howell; Associate Vice President for Facilities, Division of Business and Finance, Thomas D. Quasney; Director of Capital Budgets and Financing, Division of Business and Finance, Charlie Fitzsimons; Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; Director of Student Services, Division of Student Affairs and Academic Support, Anna Edwards; Associate NCAA/SEC Representative for the University and Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership and Policies, College of Education, Zach Kelehear; Chairman of the Gamecock Club Chip Comer; President of the USC Lettermen's Association Troy N. Duke; Chair of the Athletics Advisory Committee Charles F. Adams; Data Supervisor, Controller's Office, Deborah Crews; Senior Information Resource Consultant, Department of Athletics, David Hutson; Project Manager, Facilities Design and Construction, Christian N. Mergner; Architect with The Boudreaux Group Heather A. Mitchell; Director of News and Internal Communications Wes Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager Justin Johnson; and Board staff members Debra Allen, Terri Saxon, and Vera Stone.

Chairman Buyck called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone, and asked Board members to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media who were in attendance: Scott Hood, Gamecock Central; Pete Iacobelli, Associated Press; Andy Shain, *The State Newspaper*, and Sydney Patterson and Kathryn Kranjc, *The Daily Gamecock*.

Chairman Buyck stated that notice of the meeting had been posted; the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials circulated to the Committee; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Buyck stated that it was necessary to receive legal advice which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Buyck called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Whittle so moved and Mr. Allen seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Coach Tanner, Mr. O'Connell; Mr. Charles Waddell; Ms. Van Horn; Mr. Jeff Tallant; and Mr. Heath.

IAC_092112 Page 2 of 3

Return to Open Session

I. <u>Athletics Director's Report</u>: Chairman Buyck called on Mr. Tanner to update the Committee about the Athletics Department. He presented facts about South Carolina student athletes' successes, departmental goals, facilities report, and current athletics topics while displaying that information via a PowerPoint slide presentation.

In addition, Mr. Tanner's report included a statistical representation of the 175 student athletes in each of the 16 South Carolina judicial circuits. The 5th Judicial Circuit currently had the largest USC student athlete representation. The 27 student athletes in that particular judicial circuit came from Richland and Kershaw Counties.

In conclusion, Mr. Tanner quizzed Board members about various Gamecock trivia. He also recognized Lashinda Demus who won a silver medal this summer at the London Olympics in the 400 meter hurdles with a time of 52.77, the fastest second-place Olympic time in history, and Jason Richardson who won a silver medal in the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 13.04. He extended hearty congratulations to both of these outstanding student athletes.

II. Other Matters:

Chairman Buyck announced that Mr. Hubbard had been invited to participate in a panel presentation about intercollegiate athletics at the Association of Governing Board's (AGB) April 2013 National Conference on Trusteeship entitled "Athletics: The Board's Role in Oversight." Joining him on the panel will be Carol Cartwright, former president of Bowling Green State University and a member of the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics; John Casteen, president emeritus of the University of Virginia; and AGB President Richard D. Legon.

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Buyck declared the meeting adjourned at 11:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy **E**. Stone

Secretary

IAC_092112 Page 3 of 3