The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs

October 3, 2012

The Ad Hoc Committee on Legal Affairs of the University Of South Carolina Board Of Trustees met on Wednesday, October 3, 2012, at 12:30 p.m. in Suite 206B in the Osborne Administration Building.

Members present were: Mr. Toney J. Lister, Chairman; participating via teleconference were Mr.

Thomas C. Cofield; and Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.

Other members of the Board of Trustees participating via teleconference were: Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr., Director of Communications Mr. Wes Hickman, Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton and Executive Assistant to Secretary Stone Ms. Leah Staton Kososki.

Members not attending: Mr. William C. Hubbard.

Chairman Lister called the meeting to order. No members of the media were present.

Chairman Lister stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Lister stated that it was necessary to receive legal advice which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Chairman Lister called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Jones so moved and Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Mr. Heath, Mr. Walton, Mr. Hickman and Ms. Kososki.

Return to Open Session

Adjournment: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman II. Lister declared the meeting adjourned at 1:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

Legal_Affairs_100312 Page 2 of 2