The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

January 29, 2013

The Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina met on Tuesday, January 29, 2013, at 10:00 a.m. in Osborne Building Room 206B.

Members joining by telephone were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Mr. Thad H. Westbrook participated in person. Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr. was absent.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Communications Luanne Lawrence; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Dean of the School of Medicine Richard Hoppmann; Chief Medical Officer, School of Medicine, William Anderson; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications, Wes Hickman; Thad Moore of *The Daily Gamecock*; and Board staff member Karen Tweedy.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. He asked that Secretary Stone call the roll to identify those who had joined the meeting by telephone. Mr. Hickman introduced Mr. Thad Moore of *The Daily Gamecock*.

Chairman Warr stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been e-mailed to the members and posted on the Board Portal; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that because participation had remained unchanged from the called Health Affairs/Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committees immediately prior to this meeting and if no one wished to make additional comments, without objection he would proceed to Open Session.

Open Session

I. <u>School of Medicine Clinical Operations</u>: Chairman Warr called on Provost Amiridis who stated that the University was seeking Board approval of a proposal to transition the Department of Neurosurgery in the USC School of Medicine Columbia to Palmetto Health effective February 15, 2013. As part of the agreement, physicians and staff will become employees of Palmetto Health in order to ensure a seamless transition of patient care with no disruption in service. This transition, he advised, was based on considerations associated with patient care, limited academic activity of the department, as well as patient care efficiency and financial aspects.

Mr. Williams moved approval of the motion to close the Department of Neurosurgery of the USC School of Medicine effective February 15, 2013. Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

II. <u>Adjournment</u>: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 10:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

mit Store Amy E. Stone

Secretary