The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Called Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

February 28, 2013

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Thursday, February 28, 2013, at 11:50 a.m. in Room 122 of the Business and Science Education Building at USC Aiken.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Board Vice Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Charles H. Williams; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Also present were faculty representative Dr. Sandra J. Kelly and student representative Kenny Tracy.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President if Development and Alumni Affairs Michelle Dodenhoff; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Chancellor of USC Aiken Sandra J. Jordan; Chancellor of USC Spartanburg Tom Moore; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance Leslie Brunelli; Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Dean of the School of Law Robert Wilcox; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Finance and Planning Division, Helen T. Zeigler; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Facilities Planning and Construction, Division of Facilities, Jeff Lamberson; Senior Project Manager, Facilities Planning and Construction, Thomas Opal;

AAFL\_022813 Page 1 of 3

Director of Capital Budgets and Financing Charles D. Fitzsimons; Executive Associate Athletics Director Kevin O'Connell; Associate Athletics Director and Senior Women's Administrator Judy Van Horn; Assistant Athletics Director, Ticket Operations, Lance Grantham; Chief Financial Officer, Athletics Department, Jeff Tallant; Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance, USC Aiken, Joe Sobieralski; Assistant Chancellor for Facilities, USC Aiken, Michael F. Jara; Interim Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, USC Aiken, Jeffrey M. Priest; USC Aiken Athletic Director Randy Warrick; Director of News and Internal Communications, Division of Communications, Wesley T. Hickman; University bond counsel Margaret and Gary Pope of the Pope Zeigler Law Firm; Director, Instructional Services at USC Aiken, Keith Pierce; Andy Shain of *The State Newspaper*; and Thad Moore of *The Daily Gamecock*; USC Aiken technical support staff member Barry Ready; Board staff members Debra Allen and Leah Kososki.

Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been posted electronically on the Board Portal; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Westbrook stated that there were personnel matters dealing with recommendations for mid year tenure and promotion and an honorary degree nomination that were appropriate for Executive Session.

Chairman Westbrook called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Mobley so moved and Mr. Buyck seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, members of the President's Executive Council, and Mr. Hickman.

## Return to Open Session

- Adjournment: Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone

Secretary

AAFL\_022813 Page 2 of 3