The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Buildings and Grounds Committee

August 22, 2013

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met by conference call at 11:50 a.m. on Thursday, August 22, 2013. The call was anchored from the Osborne Building, Room 206B.

Members present were: Mr. William W. Jones, Jr., Chairman; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. Charles H. Williams was absent.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, III; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle; and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais. Also present were faculty representative Dr. James H. Knapp and student representative Chase Mizzell.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter (Terry) H. Parham; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Interim Vice President for Communications Wes Hickman; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Chairman Jones called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation. Mr. Hickman introduced Andy Shain of *The State* and Amanda Coyne of *The Daily Gamework*.

Chairman Jones stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Jones stated that there was a need for the receipt of legal advice that was appropriate for Executive Session. Chairman Jones called for a motion to enter Executive Session. Mr. Lister so moved and Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

B&G_082213 Page 1 of 2

Chairman Jones invited the following persons to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton, Dr. Amiridis, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Hickman and Mr. Heath.

Open Session

I. <u>Naming Opportunity</u>:

Chairman Jones called for a motion to recommend that the full Board approve Gamecock Park as the official name of the property acquired by the University that fronts Bluff Road and is known as the former Farmer's Market. Mr. von Lehe so moved and Ms. Moody seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried. Mr. Cofield voted against the motion.

II. Adjournment:

Since there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chairman Jones declared the meeting adjourned at 12:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E Stone

Secretary

B&G_082213 Page 2 of 2