The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### Executive Committee and Health Affairs Committee

and

## Palmetto Health Board of Directors Executive Committee

### February 8, 2013

The Executive Committee and the Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees and the Executive Committee of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors met on Friday, February 8, 2013 in the Ernest F. Hollings Special Collections Library Program Room of the Thomas Cooper Library at 1:10 p.m.

Members of the Board of Trustees Executive Committee present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr. Mr. William C. Hubbard and Mr. Toney J. Lister were absent.

Members of the Board of Trustees Health Affairs Committee present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley. Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr. and Mr. Charles H. Williams were absent.

Other Board of Trustees members present were: Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Ms. Leah B. Moody; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

University of South Carolina administrators and staff present were: President Harris Pastides;

Secretary Amy E. Stone; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis;

Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Communications Luanne M. Lawrence; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Director of News and Internal Communications Wesley T. Hickman; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Karen Tweedy.

EXE-HAC\_020813 Page 1 of 3

Members of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors Executive Committee present were: Mr. William L. "Freedie" Freeman, Chairman; Mr. James E. "Rick" Wheeler, Vice Chairman; Ms. Traci Young Cooper, Secretary; Dr. Jerome "Jerry" D. Odom, Treasurer; Mr. Charles "Chuck" D. Beaman, Jr., Chief Executive Officer of Palmetto Health; Representative Lester P. Branham, Chair of the Baptist Wing of the Palmetto Health Board of Directors; Mr. Calvin H. Elam, Chair of the Richland Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees; and Dr. James "Jim" H. Herlong, member of the Palmetto Health Baptist Board and the Palmetto Health Board.

Palmetto Health Administrators present were: Mr. John J. Singerling, President; Mr. Paul K. Duane, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer; Mr. Howard P. West, Senior Vice President and General Counsel; Dr. James "Jim" I Raymond, Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer.

Dr. Richard "Dick" Dean, President-Emeritus, Wake Forest University Health Services, and Consultant, was also present.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. . Mr. Hickman indicated that there were no members of the media present.

Chairman Warr stated that the agenda had been posted and the press had been notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been distributed to the meeting participants; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a contractual matter that was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session.

Mr. Fennell moved to enter Executive Session. Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Provost Amiridis, Mr. Parham, Mr. Byrd, Mr. Walton, Ms. Lawrence, Mr. Perkins, Mr. Heath, Mr. Hickman, Dr. Dean and guests representing Palmetto Health.

EXE-HAC\_020813 Page 2 of 3

### Return to Open Session

Adjournment: Since there were no other matters appropriate to come before the joint committees, Chairman War declared the meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone

Secretary

EXE-HAC\_020813 Page 3 of 3