The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Health Affairs Committee

September 13, 2013

The Health Affairs Committee of the University of South Carolina met on Friday, September 13, 2013, at 3:05 p.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chairman; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hugh Mobley; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr., Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs participated via telephone.

Other Board members present were: Mr. Robert "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Director of Athletics Ray Tanner; Interim Vice President for Communications Wes Hickman; Chancellor of Palmetto College Susan A. Elkins; Senior Vice Provost and Director of Strategic Planning Christine W. Curtis; Associate Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Medical Business Affairs Jeffrey L. Perkins; Dean, School of Medicine Columbia, Richard A. Hoppmann; Vice Dean for Innovative Healthcare Technologies and Chairman of the Department of Neuropsychiatry & Behavior Sciences, School of Medicine Columbia, Meera Narasimhan; Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer, School of Medicine Columbia, William D. Anderson; Associate Dean for Medical Education and Academic Affairs, School of Medicine Columbia, Joshua T. Thornhill; Chairman of the Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine Columbia, Caughman Taylor; Executive Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Roger H. Sawyer; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon and members of the media.

Chairman Smith called the meeting to order, welcomed those present, and asked everyone to introduce themselves. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: Amanda Coyne with *The Daily Gamecock*.

Chairman Smith stated that the agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

I. <u>South Carolina College of Pharmacy Update</u>

This item was rescheduled for the committee's November 22, 2013, meeting.

II. <u>USC School of Medicine Greenville Joint Board Liaison Committee Report</u> (The Honorable Mack I.. While, Jr. reported)

The Joint Board Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville met on Friday, August 23, 2013, in the Greenville Hospital System (GHS) Board Room.

Dean Jerry R. Youkey, MD, presented a profile of the current class of 2017 and reviewed applicant demographic data. Comparative applicant data from various schools also was shared. Dr. Youkey reported that the initial admission policies were documented for the Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME) accreditation process with input from other schools like Hofstra and information from Huron and the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The provisional LCME site visit will be July 13-16, 2014. Related to this, students completed a survey over the summer. Three areas are now being addressed – academic support services, EMT runs once per month thru second year, and minor module adjustments. Database information is being collected for the LCME materials and the self-study will take place during November through January.

Currently, the USC School of Medicine Greenville has received over 1600 applications for 2014-15 with 14 requesting early admission (2 from Med Ex).

Brenda Thames presented information about the Med Ex Academy pipeline programs. There are seven students out of the 54 in the incoming class who participated in the Med Ex program. This program was established in early 2009 to introduce students to various career opportunities in the health care field.

Jeff Perkins reported that updated operating agreement edits have been drafted and are currently being reviewed by legal counsel at the Greenville Hospital System and the University. Mr. Perkins also distributed financial operation information. The ten-year financial projections will be discussed at the next JBLC meeting, which is scheduled for November 15, 2013, in Columbia. Also on the agenda for that meeting will be a discussion of co-branding.

During the meeting, Hunter Howard was thanked for his service as chair over the past year and members of the committee observed that USCSOM Greenville had exceeded their expectations. Mr. Whittle stated that he would take over as chair of the JBLC from Mr. Howard who was appointed for an additional three-year term by the GHS Board.

In response to questions about preparing students for admission to medical school, Chairman Smith indicated that Dr. Youkey was scheduled to present comparative applicant data from various schools at the November 22, 2013, meeting of the Health Affairs Committee.

Chairman Smith stated that Mr. Whittle's report was received as information.

Chairman Smith then stated that there were proposed contractual matters appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Fennell moved to enter Executive Session. Mr. Loadholt seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Stone, the Faculty Representative and Student Representative to the Board, Members of the President's Executive Council, Mr. Perkins, Dr. Hoppmann, Dr. Narasimhan, Dr. Anderson, Dr. Taylor and Dr. Thornhill.

Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

fruit Sto Amy E. Stone

my E. Stone Secretary