The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

January 10, 2014

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, January 10, 2014, at 9:40 a.m. in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Chairman; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell, III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle. Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; and Ms. Leah B. Moody participated by telephone.

Members absent were: Mr. Charles H. Williams and Dr. Mitchell M. Zais.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Edward L. Walton; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis A. Pruitt; Interim Vice President for Communications Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Associate Vice President for Business and Finance and Budget Director, Division of Finance and Planning, Leslie Brunelli; Associate Vice President for Business Affairs, Finance and Planning Division, Helen T. Zeigler; Associate Vice President for Transportation and Logistical Relations Derrick Huggins; University Foundations Executive Director Russell H. Meekins; Executive Director of the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Special Assistant to the President J. Cantey Heath Jr.; Margaret Pope, Gary T. Pope, Jr. and Brent Jeffcoat with the Pope Zeigler Law Firm; Brad Noyes and Wilson Jones with the program management firm of Brailsford and Dunlavey that worked on USC's Housing Master Plan; John Holder of Holder Properties; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Chairman Warr called the meeting to order and asked Secretary Stone to call the roll because of telephone participation. Chairman Warr stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been

circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman confirmed for Chairman Warr that there were no media present for the meeting.

Chairman Warr stated that there was a proposed contractual matter appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Chairman Warr called for a motion to enter Executive Session, Mr. Buyck so moved, and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Chairman Warr invited the following persons to remain: President Pastides, Secretary Stone, Mr. Walton, Mr. Parham, Ms. Brunelli, Mr. Kirkland, Mr. Meekins, Dr. Pruitt, Mr. Heath, Mr. Hickman, Mr. Holder, Mr. Pope, Ms. Pope, Mr. Jones, Ms. Zeigler, Mr. Gruner, Dr. Luna, Mr. Tanner, Mr. Huggins, Mr. Noyes, and Mr. Jeffcoat.

Executive Session

Return to Open Session

Adjournment

Since there were no other matters to come before the Board, Chairman Warr declared the meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

migh Store Amy E. Stone

Secretary