The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

April 25, 2014

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 9:45 a.m. on April 25, 2014, in the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Mr. Robert E. "Eddie" Brown; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Absent were: Mr. A.C. Bubba Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman.

Other Board members present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.; and Dr. Mitchell J. Zais.

Also present was faculty representative Dr. James H. Knapp.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Provost Michael D. Amiridis; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations Jancy Houck; Vice President for Facilities and Transportation Derrick Huggins; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; University Foundations Executive Director Russell H. Meekins; Director of Facilities Design and Construction Jeffrey D. Lamberson; Director of State Relations Trey Walker; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, USC Aiken, Dr. Jeff Priest; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce themselves. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the

AAFL\_042514 Page 1 of 2

Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman introduced members of the media in attendance: Rodney Welsh with *The Free Times*.

Chairman Westbrook stated that there were personnel matters dealing with honorary degree nominations that were appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Mobley moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, the Faculty Representative to the Board and members of the President's Executive Council.

## Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

AAFL\_042514 Page 2 of 2