The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

February 17, 2015

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 2:00 p.m. on February 17, 2015, via telephone conference.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; and the following who joined by telephone: Ms. Paula Harper Bethea; Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. A.C. Bubba Fennell; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; and Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman. Absent were: Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman, and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Other Board members present were: Mr. William C. Hubbard.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Senior Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies Helen Doerpinghaus; and Board staff member Ina Wilson.

Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce themselves. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that no members of the media were in attendance.

Chairman Westbrook stated that there were personnel matters dealing with honorary degree nominations that were appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Jones moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Fennell seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone and members of the President's Executive Council.

Executive Session: Personnel Matters

AAFL_021715 Page 1 of 2

Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Westbrook declared the meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

AAFL_021715 Page 2 of 2