The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee - Called Meeting

April 24, 2015

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 9:15 a.m. on April 24, 2015, in the Board Room at 1600 Hampton Street.

Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Ms. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr. Mark W. Buyck, Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr., Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr, Jr., Board Chairman. Absent was: Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Other Board members present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Dorn Smith; Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present was student representative Jonathan Kaufman.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Interim Provost Helen Doerpinghaus; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Athletic Director Ray Tanner; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Executive Director for USC Foundations Russ Meekins; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; USC Aiken Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration Joe Sobieralski; Executive Director of Economic Engagement Bill Kirkland; Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Executive Associate Athletics Director Kevin O'Connell; University Architect Derek Gruner; Assistant Director for Energy Services Charles Stevenson; USC Aiken Senior University Facilities Director Brian Enter; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Open Session

I. Call to Order

Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order. He then welcomed the new Student Government President Jonathan Kaufman to the meeting and invited Board members to introduce themselves. He

AAFL_042415 Page 1 of 2

stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of

Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to

conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that Jamie Self with The State newspaper was in

attendance.

Chairman Westbrook said that there were personnel matters appropriate for Executive Session. Mr.

Cofield moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Jones seconded the motion. The vote was taken and

the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Dr. Pastides, Secretary Stone, members of the

President's Executive Council, and Mr. Kaufman.

Return to Open Session

Since there were no other matters to come before the committee, Chairman Westbrook declared

the meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary

AAFL_042415 Page 2 of 2