The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

#### University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

#### and Health Affairs Committee

#### August 7, 2015

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee (AAFL) and the Health Affairs Committee (HAC) of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met jointly for a called meeting at 9:45 a.m. on August 7, 2015, at the 1600 Hampton Street Board Room in Columbia.

AAFL Members present were: Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Chairman; Ms. Paula Harper Bethea; Mr.

Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A. C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William W. Jones Jr.; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley.

HAC Members present were: Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Chairman; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. A. C.

"Bubba" Fennell; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Dr. C. Dorn Smith; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs who participated by phone.

Also present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Vice Chairman; and Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr., Board Chairman; ex-officio members of both committees.

Absent were: Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr. (AAFL); Dr. C. Edward Floyd (HAC); and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.(AAFL).

Other Board members present were: Mr. Toney J. Lister; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. William C. Hubbard; and Mr. Charles H. Williams who participated by phone.

Also present were: Faculty Senate Chair James H. Knapp and student representative Jonathan Kaufman.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Interim Provost Helen Doerpinghaus; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for System Planning Mary Anne Fitzpatrick; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; USC Upstate Chancellor Thomas F. Moore; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeffrey M. Priest; USC Aiken Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration Joe Sobieralski; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Chief of Staff, President's Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; University Treasurer Pat Lardner; South Carolina College of Pharmacy Interim Executive Dean Randall C. Rowen; Dean of University Libraries Thomas F. McNally; Executive Director for Audit & Advisory Services Pamela Doran; Executive Director of Economic Engagement Bill Kirkland; Director of Strategic Planning Cameron Howell; Director of Governmental and Community Relations and Legislative Liaison Shirley D. Mills; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Ina Wilson.

### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

AAFL Chairman Westbrook called the meeting to order and invited committee members to introduce themselves. He stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business. Mr. Hickman informed the committee that no members of the press were in attendance.

AAFL Chairman Westbrook said that there were personnel and proposed contractual matters appropriate for Executive Session. Mr. Jones moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Cofield seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following individuals were invited to remain: Trustees, President Pastides, Secretary Stone, the President's Executive Council, Ms. Doran, Dr. Knapp, Mr. Kaufman, Dean Rowen and Dean McNally.

## II. <u>South Carolina College of Pharmacy</u>

HAC Chairman Mobley called on Mr. Parham to present the following resolution:

## JOINT RESOLUTION

# BOARDS OF TRUSTEES OF THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA AND THE UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH CAROLINA

**WHEREAS,** the South Carolina College of Pharmacy (SCCP) was founded in 2004 through the merger of the separately accredited Colleges of Pharmacy at the University of South Carolina (USC) and the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC); and

WHEREAS, SCCP has been successful in educating and training high-quality student pharmacists and in fostering an environment of research collaboration between USC and MUSC faculty; however, SCCP has also experienced significant challenges that have prevented SCCP from achieving desired economic and administrative efficiencies and recognition as a single, fullyintegrated pharmacy program; and

**WHEREAS,** after a thorough evaluation of SCCP, the Boards of Trustees of USC and MUSC have jointly determined it to be mutually advantageous to restructure their pharmacy collaboration by dissolving SCCP and seeking separate accreditations for the Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree programs on the USC and MUSC campuses, while continuing to optimize partnerships for experiential learning and research;

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Boards of Trustees of USC and MUSC, respectively, hereby authorize and approve the following:

1. that USC and MUSC re-establish their respective Colleges of Pharmacy, effective as of the fall 2016 entering class of students, and seek separate accreditation for their Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree programs from the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE);

2. that USC and MUSC maintain and continue to provide SCCP appropriate financial and academic support and resources for students currently enrolled in SCCP and students matriculating in the fall 2015, until graduation 2019;

3. that SCCP be dissolved, effective graduation 2019;

4. that the administrations of USC and MUSC, respectively, be authorized to undertake such actions as are necessary to accomplish the directives set forth herein, including discussions with ACPE leading to the separate accreditation of each institution's Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) degree program, ensuring at all times that the education and training of student pharmacists not be compromised; and

5. that the administrations of USC and MUSC continue their commitment to research collaboration and the joint exploration of new, innovative pharmacy practice models.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that this Resolution shall be effective upon its joint adoption by the Boards of Trustees of USC and MUSC.

HAC Chairman Mobley then called for a motion to recommend approval of the resolution by the

full Board. Mr. Fennell so moved and Dr. Smith seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

### III. <u>Other Matters</u>

Since there were no other matters to come before this joint meeting, HAC Chairman Mobley

declared the meeting adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary