The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

## University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee

August 19, 2016

The Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 19, 2016, at 12:20 p.m. in the C. Edward Floyd Boardroom at the Alumni Center.

Members present were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. Thomas C. Cofield; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Tommy D. Preston Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; and Mr. Thad H. Westbrook.

Other Trustees present were: Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; William W. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister, Mr. Miles Loadholt, Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also present were faculty representative August E. "Augie" Grant and the student representative Michael Parks.

Others present were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary Amy E. Stone; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Financial Officer Leslie Brunelli; Vice President for Student Affairs Dennis A. Pruitt; Vice President for Human Resources Chris Byrd; Vice President for Information Technology William F. Hogue; Vice President for Development Jancy Houck; Vice President for Facilities and Transportation Derrick Huggins; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; Executive Director of Audit & Advisory Services Pam Doran; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; USC Aiken Chancellor Sandra Jordan; USC Beaufort Chancellor Al Panu; Palmetto College Chancellor Susan Elkins; College of Arts and Sciences Dean Lacy K. Ford; Executive Director for the Office of Economic Engagement William D. "Bill" Kirkland; Executive Director of My Carolina Alumni Association Jack W. Claypoole; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Strategic Planning and Assessment Cameron Howell; Assistant Director, Facilities Design and Construction, Thomas Opal; Associate Director of Public Relations, Division of Communications and Public Affairs, Jeff Stensland; Chief of Staff, President's AAFL\_081916 Page 1 of 2 Office, J. Cantey Heath Jr.; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Jeff Priest; USC Aiken Executive Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance Joe Sobieralski; Trustee Emeritus Donald A. Bailey; Trustee Emeritus Herbert C. Adams and Mrs. Gwen Adams; Mrs. Cynthia Lister, wife of Trustee Toney J. Lister; Mrs. Ann Loadholt, wife of Trustee Miles Loadholt; family and friends of Board Chairman John von Lehe included: Maggie Metcalf, John C. von Lehe III, Art von Lehe, Rosemary MacIntosh, Deborah Walter, Louis Walter, Julian Adams, Robert Adams, Barry Burnette, Wilbur Johnson, Charlotte Ellard, Rhoxie Ellard; Avery Wilks with *The State* newspaper; Rodney Welch with the *Free Times*; University Technology Services Photographer Jason Ayer; University Technology Services Production Manager Matt Warthen; and Board staff members Debra Allen and Terri Saxon.

Board Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order for the election of a new chair. The membership of the committee as earlier constituted by the Executive Committee was displayed to guide Trustees as to who was eligible to vote.

## I. <u>Election of a Chairman</u>

Board Chairman von Lehe opened the floor to nominations. Mr. Fennell nominated Ms. Leah B. Moody as Chair of the Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee. Dr. Smith seconded and moved that nominations be closed and Ms. Moody be elected by acclamation. The vote was taken, and the motion carried.

## II. <u>Adjournment</u>

There were no other matters to come before the committee and Board Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 12:21 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy E. Stone Secretary