The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Meeting

May 15, 2017

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, May 15, 2017, by telephone conference hosted from Room 206-B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating by telephone were: Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chairman; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Vice Chairman; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Mark W. Buyck Jr.; Mr. A.C. "Bubba" Fennell III; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Tommy D. Preston Jr.; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Mr. Charles H. Williams. Absent were Mr. Chuck Allen and Mr. Thomas C. Cofield.

Others participating were: President Harris Pastides; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Operating Officer Ed Walton; Chief Communications Officer Wes Hickman; and Board of Trustees staff member Debra Allen.

I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman von Lehe called the meeting to order and stated that notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Mr. Hickman announced there were no members of the news media present.

II. <u>Election of Board Member to the Executive Committee</u>

Chairman von Lehe opened the floor for nominations to fill the vacancy on the Executive Committee created by the resignation of Mr. William W. Jones, Jr.

Mr. Fennell nominated Mr. Loadholt. There were no further nominations. Mr. von Lehe declared nominations closed and said Mr. Loadholt had agreed to step down as chairman of the Health Affairs Committee as required by the Board's Bylaws. The Health Affairs Committee would elect a new chair at its next regularly scheduled meeting on September 15, 2017.

BOT_051517 Page 1 of 2

Mr. von Lehe called for the vote, and Mr. Loadholt was unanimously elected.

III. <u>Election of Board Member to the Educational Foundation Board of Directors</u>

Chairman von Lehe opened the floor for nominations to fill the remainder of the term held by Mr. Jones on the Educational Foundation Board of Directors. Mr. von Lehe noted that the term would end in August 2019

Dr. Smith nominated Ms. Moody. There were no further nominations. Mr. von Lehe declared nominations closed and called for the vote. Ms. Moody was unanimously elected.

Chairman von Lehe then announced the appointment of Mr. Williams to replace Mr. Jones on the University's Design Review Committee.

Motion for Executive Session

Chairman von Lehe said there was a need for an Executive Session for the receipt of legal advice. He said that no action would be taken and the meeting would adjourn on conclusion of the Executive Session. Mr. Mobley made the motion, which was seconded by Mr. Fennell. The vote was take and the motion passed.

The following individuals were invited to remain for the Executive Session: President Pastides, Secretary Heath, Mr. Parham, Mr. Walton and Mr. Hickman.

Executive Session

Return to Open Session

IV. Adjournment

There being no other matters to come before the Board, Chairman von Lehe declared the meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary

BOT_051517 Page 2 of 2