The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

# University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## Buildings and Grounds Committee - Called Meeting

May 9, 2019

The Buildings and Grounds Committee of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 9:55 a.m. on Thursday, May 9, 2019, by telephone conference hosted from Room 206-B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating by telephone were: William C. Hubbard, Chairman; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; and Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Board Chairman who attended in person. Absent were Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Board Vice Chairman.

Other Trustees participating by telephone were: Mr. Robert F. Dozier Jr.; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.

Attending the meeting in person were Columbia Faculty Senate Chairman Marco Valtorta and Columbia Student Government President Luke Rankin.

Others attending the meeting in person were: Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Chief Operating Officer Edward L. Walton; Athletics Director Ray Tanner; Vice President for Human Resources Carolina Agardy; Interim Chief Communications Officer Sally McKay; Chief Audit Executive Pam Doran; Chief Financial Officer, Athletics Department, Jeff Tallant; Director of Facilities Planning and Programming and University Architect Derek S. Gruner; Director of Government Relations Craig H. Parks; and Board staff member Debra Allen.

Also, Chief Advancement Officer and Senior Advisor to the President Paula Harper Bethea participated by telephone.

#### I. <u>Call to Order</u>

Chairman Hubbard called the meeting to order, welcomed everyone and invited those at the table to introduce themselves. He said the agenda had been posted, the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act, and the agenda had been circulated to committee. Secretary Heath called the roll to confirm those participating by telephone and that a quorum was present to conduct business.

B&G\_050919 Page 1 of 2

Ms. McKay announced that members of the news media – Hale McGranahan with The Big Spur and Collyn Taylor with Gamecock Central – would join the meeting following the Executive Session.

Chairman Hubbard stated there was a proposed contractual matter related to a gift naming opportunity which was appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. Mr. Lister moved to enter Executive Session and Mr. Warr seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

The following persons were invited to remain: Trustees, Secretary Heath, the faculty and the student representative to the Board, members of the President's Executive Council, Ms. Doran and Mr. Tallant.

#### **Executive Session**

Chairman Hubbard declared a return to Open Session.

## Return to Open Session

## II. Gift Naming Opportunities

Chairman Hubbard said the following gift naming opportunity was presented in Executive Session without objection:

## Pastides Alumni Center

Chairman Hubbard called for a motion to recommend the full Board accept and endorse this gift naming opportunity. Mr. Warr so moved and Mr. Lister seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

## III. Adjournment

Chairman Hubbard declared the called meeting adjourned at 10:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary

B&G\_050919 Page 2 of 2