University of South Carolina

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Governance

May 27, 2020

The Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on Governance of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees met at 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, May 27, 2020, in the C. Edward Floyd Board Room of the Pastides Alumni Center.

Committee members present were: Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chair; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr.; and Board of Trustees Special Advisor Mr. David Seaton.

Others present were: President Robert L. Caslen Jr.; Secretary J. Cantey Heath Jr.; General Counsel Walter "Terry" H. Parham; Board of Trustees Governance Consultant Dr. Cameron Howell; Director of Public Relations Jeff Stensland; and Board staff assistant Delphine Bigony.

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Smith welcomed those in attendance and asked them to introduce themselves. He said notice of the meeting and agenda had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act, the agenda and supporting materials had been provided to the Committee, and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Mr. Stensland advised no members of the media were present; he then excused himself from the meeting.

AHACG_052720 Page 1 of 2

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Smith said there was a proposed contractual matter related to the consultant's Scope of Work Documents appropriate for discussion in Executive Session. He called for a motion to enter Executive Session and noted that there would be no action taken following a return to Open Session.

The following were invited to remain: Trustees, President Caslen, Secretary Heath, Mr. Parham, Mr. Seaton, Dr. Howell, and Ms. Bigony.

Mr. Warr so moved and Mr. Whittle seconded the motion. The vote was taken and the motion carried.

Return to Open Session

Chair Smith thanked everyone for their input and noted for the record there was no action taken in Executive Session.

II. Adjournment

As there were no other matters to come before the Committee, Chair Smith declared the meeting adjourned at 4:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary

AHACG_052720 Page 2 of 2