The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Called Meeting

August 31, 2020

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 1:30 p.m. on Monday, August 31, 2020, by Microsoft Teams hosted from the Conference Room 206B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating were Dr. C. Dorn Smith III, Chair; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook, Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. Alex English; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. Richard A. Jones, Jr.; Mr. Tony J. Lister; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley; Ms. Leah B. Moody; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Mr. Robin D. Roberts; Mr. John C. von Lehe, Jr.; Mr. Eugene P. Warr; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle, Jr.

Board members absent were Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Molly Spearman; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also participating were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Mark Cooper, USC Columbia Student Government President Ms. Issy Rushton, and the Board's Strategic Advisor Mr. David Seaton.

Others participating by Microsoft Teams were President Robert L. Caslen, Jr.; Secretary J. Cantey Heath, Jr.; Chief Audit Executive Pamela Dunleavy; Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer Doug Foster; Board Governance Consultant

BOT (Called) - 083120 Page 1 of 3

Cameron Howell; General Counsel and Executive Director of Compliance Programs Terry Parham; Vice President for Student Affairs and Vice Provost for Academic Support Dennis Pruitt; Special Assistant to the President James Smith; Director of Public Relations, Communications and Public Affairs Jeff Stensland; Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dr. William F. Tate IV; Vice President for Communications Larry Thomas; and Senior Vice President for Administration Ed Walton.

OPEN SESSION

I. Call to Order

Chair Smith called the meeting to order and asked those at the table to introduce themselves. Secretary Heath confirmed members participating by Microsoft Teams. Chair Smith called on Mr. Stensland to introduce members of the press. Mr. Stensland stated there were no members of the press participating.

Chair Smith stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified as required by the Freedom of Information Act; the agenda and supporting materials had been circulated; and a quorum was present to conduct business.

II. Approval of Minutes

Chair Smith stated the following three sets of minutes have been finalized and posted on the Board portal for this meeting.

- A. Board of Trustees Meeting August 14, 2020
- B. Executive and Governance Committee Meeting August 14, 2020
- C. Called Governance Committee Meeting August 27, 2020

BOT (Called) - 083120 Page 2 of 3

Chair Smith stated if there are no additions, deletions, or corrections to the minutes they stand approved as distributed.

III. Adjournment

There being no other matters on the agenda, Chair Smith adjourned the meeting at 1:35 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Ilmty flamy

J. Cantey Health, Jr.

Secretary