The official minutes of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees are maintained by the Secretary of the Board. Certified copies of minutes may be requested by contacting the Board of Trustees' Office at trustees@sc.edu. Electronic or other copies of original minutes are not official Board of Trustees' documents.

University of South Carolina

#### BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### Called Meeting

#### March 30, 2020

The University of South Carolina Board of Trustees convened in a called meeting at 11:00 a.m. on Monday, March 30, 2020, by telephone conference hosted from Room 206-B of the Osborne Administration Building.

Members participating by telephone were Mr. John C. von Lehe Jr., Chair; Mr. Hubert F. Mobley, Vice Chair; Mr. C. Dan Adams; Mr. Chuck Allen; Mr. J. Egerton Burroughs; Mr. A. King Dixon II; Mr. Robert F. Dozier; Dr. C. Edward Floyd; Mr. William C. Hubbard; Mr. Richard A. Jones Jr.; Mr. Toney J. Lister; Mr. Miles Loadholt; Ms. Rose Buyck Newton; Dr. C. Dorn Smith III; Ms. Molly M. Spearman; and Mr. Mack I. Whittle Jr. Members absent were Ms. Leah B. Moody; Mr. Eugene P. Warr Jr.; Mr. Thad H. Westbrook; and Mr. Charles H. Williams.

Also participating by telephone were USC Columbia Faculty Senate Chair Dr. Mark Cooper and USC Columbia Student Government President Ms. Issy Rushton.

Others participating by telephone were President Robert L. Caslen Jr.; Chief Audit Executive Pam Dunleavy; Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Dr. Tayloe Harding; Vice President for Student Affairs Dr. Dennis Pruitt; and Special Assistant to the President Mr. James Smith.

Others participating in person where Secretary Cantey Heath, General Council Mr.

Terry Parham, Interim Chief Communications Officer Mr. Jeff Stensland, and Board of Trustees Staff.

## **OPEN SESSION**

#### I. Call to Order

Chair von Lehe called the meeting to order and stated notice of the meeting had been posted and the press notified. The agenda and supporting materials had been circulated, and a quorum was present to conduct business.

Chair von Lehe invited Jeff Stensland to introduce the press. Mr. Stensland advised there were no members of the press on the call.

## MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair von Lehe stated there was a need for Executive Session to consider personnel matters related to the appointment of honorary academic titles, appointments with tenure, and a proposed contractual matter regarding the engagement of a governance consultant.

Dr. Smith made a motion to enter Executive Session and Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. The vote was taken, and the motion carried. Members of the gallery were excused and Chair von Lehe invited President Caslen, Secretary Heath, members of the President's Cabinet, Dr. Cooper, Ms. Dunleavy, and Ms. Rushton to remain. Mr. Whittle recused himself.

## EXECUTIVE SESSION

-Executive Session Removed

## **RETURN TO OPEN SESSION**

#### II. Consent Agenda

Chair von Lehe stated the Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee met on March 20, 2020 and recommends full Board approval of all items listed on the consent agenda BOTCALLED\_033020

as presented and posted on the Board portal for this meeting.

Hearing no objections to this single motion, Chair von Lehe called for a vote.

A vote was taken, and the motion carried. Chair von Lehe stated the Committee's

detailed report as outlined below was approved.

# Academic Affairs and Faculty Liaison Committee (The Honorable Leah B. Moody, Chair)

- A. <u>Personnel Matters</u>
  - 1. Honorary Academic Titles

For the title Professor Emeritus: James Chapman

For the title Distinguished Professor Emeritus: Alexander J. McDonald

For the title Distinguished Clinical Professor Emeritus: <u>Paul Beattie</u> <u>Morris Blachman</u> <u>William H. Hester</u>

2. Appointments with Tenure

<u>Dr. David L. Schecter</u> – Appointment with tenure at the rank of professor in Political Science at USC Upstate. Also appointed Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost at USC Upstate.

Dr. William F. Tate IV – Appointment with tenure at the rank of professor in the Department of Sociology, College of Arts and Sciences. Also appointed Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost for the University of South Carolina.

<u>Dr. R. Clinton Webb</u> – Appointment with tenure at the rank of professor in the School of Medicine Columbia.

- B. <u>USC Columbia</u>
  - 1. <u>New Certificate Program</u> Artificial Intelligence Certificate, College of Engineering and Computing
  - 2. <u>Articulation Agreement</u>: USC College of Education and Horry Georgetown Technical College

- 3. <u>Articulation Agreement</u>: USC College of Information and Communications and Claflin University
- 4. Program Name Changes
  - a. BA in Experimental Psychology change to BA in Psychology
  - b. BS in Experimental Psychology change to BS in Psychology
  - c. Med in Educational Technology change to MEd in Learning and Design Technologies
- 5. <u>Unit Name Change</u>

School of Library and Information Science change <u>to School of</u> <u>Information Science.</u>

- 6. USC Columbia Faculty Manual Changes
- C. <u>USC Aiken</u>
  - 1. New Program: BA in Art
  - 2. Program Modification: BA in Special Education
  - 3. USC Aiken Faculty Manual Changes
- D. <u>USC Upstate New Programs</u>
  - 1. BSBA in Accounting
  - 2. BSBA in Economics and Finance
  - 3. BSBA in Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  - 4. BSBA in Logistics and Supply Chain Management
  - 5. BSBA in Marketing
  - 6. BSBA in Management

## III. Proposed Contractual Matter

Chair von Lehe called on Dr. Dorn Smith, Chair of the Ad Hoc Advisory Committee

on Governance.

Dr. Smith made a motion to approve the hiring of Dr. Cameron Howell as a

governance consultant to the Board of Trustees at a rate not to exceed \$3,500 per week for a period of time to be determined by the Board of Trustees.

Mr. Mobley seconded the motion. Mr. Whittle recused himself. A vote was taken, and the motion carried.

IV. Adjournment

There be no other matters for discussion, Chair von Lehe adjourned the meeting at 11:24 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jemty Shamp

J. Cantey Heath, Jr. Secretary