College Steering Committee Wednesday, January 4, 2012 1:00-2:30 Dean's Conference Room Notes

In attendance: Panayiotis Doutis, Patrick Kelly, Murray Mitchell, Julie Rotholz, Mary Styslinger, and Lemuel Watson

Committee Structures

- The dean provided an explanation of the role he hopes COE committees will play in future faculty governance. He sees the committees taking increasingly active roles in the respective areas assigned to them.
- Steering suggested the formation of an ad hoc committee to examine the tasks of each
 committee and revise them accordingly to meet COE's needs better as both university offices
 and COE structures have evolved over the years. Discussion as to the potential make-up of this
 group were discussed (including the possibility of Mike Seaman as member and past chairs of
 COE Committees) in order to examine the published descriptions of committees and compare
 this language with the past work of the committees
- The question was raised as to the Q-Com Committee—is it represented in the bylaws and/or published online?
- Should the APGC and the BPCC Committees be combined?

College Mission Statement

- The dean provided a contextual background for raising the question of whether or not to revise the mission statement.
- Steering suggested faculty vote on whether or not to revise the mission statement. A simple survey was agreed upon and is attached. Steering will collect the feedback by January 17 and determine whether or not a revised statement is necessary.

Future Leadership Arrangements for the Steering Committee

• With the current committee rotation ended and based on currently published faculty in ITE (36), EDST (26), EDLP (16), and PEAT (10), Steering instituted the below departmental rotation for identifying the faculty chair and chair elect:

Academic Year	Chair	Chair Elect
2011-2012	ITE - Styslinger	PEAT - TBA
2012-2013	PEAT	EDLP
2013-2014	EDLP	EDST
2014-2015	EDST	ITE
2015-2016	ITE	EDST
2016-2017	EDST	ITE

- We would like this roster to be available and disseminated to faculty via department chairs
- PEAT will determine a chair-elect who will take on leadership of COE Steering meetings
- Tuesdays from 2:00-3:00 were mutually agreed upon as meeting times for Steering.